Laver Cup 2022: Teams, competitors, when, where, how to watch Nadal, Djokovic, Federer and Murray to play for Team Europe

Following Novak Djokovic’s confirmation that he will compete at this year’s Laver Cup, the Wimbledon winner will join ‘Big Four’ rivals Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer and Andy Murray in a quartet of blockbusters.

The ‘Big Four’ will compete as four of the six members of Team Europe to take on Team Rest of the World at the Laver Cup, which will take place on 23-25 ​​September at The O2 Arena in London.

The other two members of Team Europe are yet to be confirmed, while the rest of the world have locked in three players – Canada’s Felix Auger-Aliassim, America’s Taylor Fritz and Argentina’s Diego Schwartzman.

It will be a blockbuster at the 20,000-capacity O2 Arena, with Team Europe playing together for the first time with all of the ‘Big Four’.

We’ve seen Federer play doubles with Nadal and Djokovic in the past, but this will be Murray’s first time at the event.

Team Europe – Laver Cup 2022

Player Nationality
Rafael Nadal Spain
Novak Djokovic Serbia
Roger Federer Switzerland
Andy Murray Great Britain

Rest of the World Team – Laver Cup 2022

Player Nationality
Felix Auger-Aliassime Canada
Taylor Fritz USA
Diego Schwartzmann Argentina

What format is the Laver Cup played in?

The Laver Cup is a team action in which the best tennis players in Europe are compared to the best in the rest of the world, p the winner is the team that reaches 13 points first.

How do you get those points? With match victories. Three singles matches and one doubles match are played each day, to the best of three sets, with the last contested as a 10-point tie-break. Friday wins are worth one point, Saturday two points and Sunday three points – which ensures that no team can become champions before the final day.

All players will play at least one singles match between Friday and Saturday and at least four of them are participating in doubles.

Who has won the Laver Cup in previous years?

washing mug

Team Europe has won four editions from the Laver Cup. In 2017 they won 15-9 in Prague (Czech Republic), in 2018 they won 13-8 in Chicago (United States of America), in 2019 they won 13-11 in Geneva (Switzerland) and in 2021 they won 14-1 in Boston (United States).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.